2 responses to “Smart Meters – the silver bullet of energy demand reduction?

  1. I’ll be the first to admit to having one of these but not allowing it to affect my energy habits long term, aside from the odd lightbulb costing me more than 6p an hour (replaced now with energy saving). It has definitely increased my awareness though.

    You might also be interested in http://chop-cloc.com/ which was developed by a company I used to work for – maybe a more pro-active form of energy saving? (Central heating anyway)

  2. Hi Graham,
    I hadn’t seen chop cloc it seems like a great little idea. I know that Nest (http://www.nest.com/) in USA is moving towards increasing automation too. I think metering has to be part of a wider approach of engaging the public and making feedback useful. It will be interesting to see what British Gas come out with next year as well…
    Nic

Leave a Reply

